Holiday Inn (57th Street)

Holiday Inn

“Let’s get the fuck out of town, Aaron, those Gothamist commentators are just too mean!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Photos

6 Comments on “Holiday Inn (57th Street)”

  1. Lex Says:

    Screw them. I read about this site from Goth and i’m GLAD, no actually _overjoyed_ that it exists. I took a paycut and stopped commuting into Times Square to simply avoid them. How sad is it that midtown workers share stories of the best way to get cross town to avoid the crowds of insipid mid-westerners? Cheers, kudos and thank you for blogging this.

  2. Aaron Goldfarb Says:

    Thanks Lex.

    You are a wise woman to avoid tourists.

    As for your latter question: I try my damndest to only exist on the west side of town, but when I need to make that scary cross, I usually walk all the way up to 57th or all the way down to 40th. Still touristy, no question, but I feel like you’re outside the eye of the hurricane a bit.

    But what do you think?

  3. Lex Says:

    Well there’s an entrance to Grand Central on 43rd that i would use and cross town to 8th ave that way. It’s a brisk lovely route when glass isn’t falling from the Bank of America tower of doom – i mean building. Oops. Some hidden gems on that block: Town Hall, BXL Belgian bar, Porky’s, Haru Sushi, brick oven pizza (both of which offer discounts if you work in the area, no proof needed. I still milk said discount!). Also Mr Biggs on 43rd and 10! The little pie shop! That’s all i can think of. All almost tourist free. The corner of 43rd and 7th is … unreal but once you’re through, it’s quiet.

  4. Aaron Goldfarb Says:

    Yeah, I live in Hell’s Kitchen, I know a lot of those places you mentioned. I try to stay in the safe haven west of 9th.

  5. Metromarche Says:

    Lex, how can I find this mythical tunnel…PLEASE! I guess I don’t have to add that I too must find ingenious new ways to crosstown…usually I just walk down 43rd, but that gets pretty bad once I hit 6th avenue…

  6. Aaron Goldfarb Says:

    Hmmm…maybe I should have a section for helpful and sneaky tricks NYers have discovered to avoid tourists. Yes, elaborate on this tunnel, Lex.


Leave a Reply

